Therapy…

Part of the deal…part of why I still work at this, was an agreement we made… he goes to therapy every other week, to a psychologist once a month for medication management and  I have been going to therapy every other month and to a support group monthly.  If it weren’t for the ongoing therapy, I would have bailed.  Group therapy… which is a caregivers support group focused on caregivers to those whom have served in the military… is amazing.  I bond with other women/men that go through similar griefs that I do.  There are times, ladies 20 years older than I- attend.  They offer a lot of advise…but then I sit back…and my mind screams at me- Is This what’s to become of you??  How can I change my path without leaving??

The thoughts of Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera cross my mind…Kahlo and Rivera kept separate, but adjoining homes in San Angel,  it comprises two separate buildings – one for each artist – joined by a walkway.  Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera lived apart,  yet loved each other… I can honestly say that the thought entertains me!

I am very proud of my husband for attending therapy…and he is somewhat stable, leaving me with the time to think- how do I take care of me again- where do I begin?  I start to work on my support system…my friendships.  With 4 kids, and a disabled husband…friendships are difficult to sustain, not because of the situation, but because – its so damn hard being a mom, a wife, an employee and a full time graduate student!  Its SO HARD to get it all done!  So… I just ..get it done…..diego-rivera

 

Author: Love and Mental Illness

A Mid-40's Mother, Nurse, Caretaker, Lover, Cook, Dancer

Leave a Reply

